School Calendars

2027-28 School Calendars: Which Big Districts Have Approved Theirs

As of Nov. 4, 2026, seven districts have approved 2027-28 calendars with dates, including Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS); first days run Aug. 2 to 24.

The 1916 Durango High School building in Colorado, now a school district office, for the 2027-28 school calendar approval tracker
File photo of the 1916 Durango High School building, now the school district's administration building in Durango, Colo. Durango is not one of the districts in the tracker. Photo: Carol M. Highsmith / Wikimedia Commons, cropped, edited · Source · Public domain
In this article
  1. 2027-28 school calendar tracker by district
  2. What the approved 2027-28 calendars say
  3. Approved calendars where we did not read the dates
  4. Which districts post 2027-28 calendars without a stated approval?
  5. How the 2027-28 first days compare with 2026-27
  6. Which districts have nothing posted for 2027-28?
  7. Print the 2027-28 tracker

As of Nov. 4, 2026, seven large U.S. school districts have an approved 2027-28 calendar with a first day we could read, and the earliest is Monday, Aug. 2, 2027 in Hawaii, according to the Hawaii State Department of Education (HIDOE). The latest of the seven is Tuesday, Aug. 24, 2027 at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS), whose Board of Education approved its calendar on April 14, 2026. This is a tracker: we update it as boards vote and districts post.

2027-28 school calendar tracker by district

The table is sorted by status: approved, posted, nothing posted, not confirmed. Weekdays are ours, computed from the dates printed on the district documents. “Not read” means the page we read does not give it, not that the district has not set it. Sources are listed at the bottom of the page.

DistrictStatusApproved onFirst dayLast dayWinter breakSpring break
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS)ApprovedApr. 14, 2026Tue., Aug. 24, 2027Wed., June 7, 2028Dec. 20-31, 2027Apr. 10-14, 2028
Hawaii State Department of Education (HIDOE)ApprovedMay 15, 2025Mon., Aug. 2, 2027Wed., May 24, 2028Dec. 20-31, 2027Mar. 13-17, 2028
Katy Independent School District (ISD)ApprovedBoard release Jan. 20, 2026Wed., Aug. 11, 2027Wed., May 24, 2028Not readMar. 13-17, 2028
Northside ISD (San Antonio)ApprovedBoard news Dec. 9, 2025Mon., Aug. 9, 2027Thu., May 25, 2028Not readNot read
Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS)ApprovedJuly 9, 2026Mon., Aug. 23, 2027Wed., June 14, 2028Two weeks, dates not readOne week, dates not read
Palm Beach CountyApprovedAug. 12, 2026Tue., Aug. 10, 2027Not labeledNot labeledNot labeled
Lee County (Fort Myers, Fla.)ApprovedNov. 4, 2025Tue., Aug. 10, 2027Tue., May 30, 2028Not readNot read
Polk County (Fla.)ApprovedFeb. 24, 2026Not readNot readNot readNot read
Broward County Public Schools (BCPS)ApprovedBoard release Dec. 18, 2025Not confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmed
Hillsborough County (Fla.)ApprovedVote date not readNot readNot readNot readNot read
Chicago Public Schools (CPS)Posted, approval not statedNot statedMon., Aug. 23, 2027Fri., June 9, 2028Dec. 20-31, 2027Mar. 20-24, 2028
Orange County Public Schools (OCPS)Posted, approval not statedNot statedTue., Aug. 10, 2027Wed., May 24, 2028Dec. 20-31Mar. 13-17
Clark County School District (CCSD)Posted, “subject to change”Not statedMon., Aug. 9, 2027Not shownDec. 20-31Not shown
Columbus City Schools (Ohio)Posted, approval not statedNot statedThu., Aug. 19, 2027Thu., May 25, 2028Dec. 20-31Apr. 14-21
Houston, Dallas, Philadelphia, San Diego, Cypress-Fairbanks, Memphis-Shelby County, Wake County Public School System (WCPSS)Nothing postedNoneNoneNoneNoneNone
New York City (NYC), Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD), Miami-Dade, Gwinnett, Montgomery County (Md.), Prince George’s, Duval, Austin, Denver, Cobb, Baltimore County, Fort WorthNot confirmedNot readNot readNot readNot readNot read

Each row’s dates come from the district’s own document or release. The Katy winter break and Northside breaks are not in the pages we read, and Katy also has a fall break, Oct. 8-12, 2027. Fairfax’s end date comes from the same district bulletin as its start date; the July 9, 2026 vote date comes from FFXnow, which reported the adoption on July 15, 2026. Palm Beach’s calendar marks the first day only; it does not label a last day or breaks.

What the approved 2027-28 calendars say

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools lists “Aug 24 First Day of School” and “June 7th Last Day of School” on a calendar the Board of Education approved April 14, 2026. Winter break is “Dec 20-31” and spring break “Apr 10-14”. Our CMS 2026-27 story covers the current year.

Hawaii’s 2027-2028 official school calendar reads “Approved May 15, 2025”, with “August 2: Students’ First Day” and “May 24: Last Day for Students & Second Semester Ends”. Winter break is December 20-31 and spring break March 13-17. See our Hawaii 2026-27 story for this year.

Katy ISD’s board release of Jan. 20, 2026 gives the first day as Aug. 11, 2027 and the last day as May 24, 2028, with fall break Oct. 8-12, 2027 and spring break March 13-17, 2028. Northside ISD’s board approved the 2026-27 and 2027-28 calendars together, with first days of Aug. 10, 2026 and Aug. 9, 2027 and last days of May 26, 2027 and May 25, 2028.

Fairfax County Public Schools said in a bulletin sent July 13, 2026: “The 2027-28 school year will begin on August 23, 2027.” The last day is June 14, 2028, with a two-week winter break and a one-week spring break. FFXnow reported July 15, 2026 that the board adopted the calendar July 9. Palm Beach County’s PDF is stamped “School Board Approved 8/12/2026” and shows Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2027 as the first day. The School District of Lee County’s 2027-28 PDF, marked as board approved 11/04/2025, starts students Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2027 and ends Tuesday, May 30, 2028 with an early dismissal, as our Lee County story notes.

Approved calendars where we did not read the dates

Three Florida districts say a board approved 2027-28 calendars, but we did not confirm their dates. Polk County Public Schools lists “2027-2028 (Approved 2/24/2026)” on its calendars page; the dates sit in a PDF we did not check. Broward County Public Schools said Dec. 18, 2025 that “the School Board has approved two school year calendars”; the 2027-28 dates are not confirmed on the district site. Hillsborough County Public Schools has an article titled “School Board Approves 2027-2028 Student Academic Calendar”; we did not read the vote date or the dates.

Which districts post 2027-28 calendars without a stated approval?

Chicago Public Schools’ family calendar for SY27-28 (last update 3.5.26) says “Students begin classes on Monday, August 23, 2027 and end on Friday, June 9, 2028”, with winter break December 20 to 31, 2027 and spring break March 20 to 24, 2028. It does not state an approval. Orange County Public Schools shows Tuesday, Aug. 10 as the first day and Wednesday, May 24 as the last, with winter break Dec. 20-31 and spring break March 13-17.

The Clark County School District PDF is marked “*Subject to change”. It lists “Monday, August 9 - Classes Begin” and “No School December 20 - December 31”, with classes resuming Jan. 4, 2028. It shows no last day or spring break. Columbus City Schools in Ohio, outside the 30 largest districts, posted a traditional calendar: “Aug. 19 First Day of School for Grades 1-12”, “Dec. 20-31” winter break, “Apr. 14-21” spring break and “May 25 Last Day for Students”.

How the 2027-28 first days compare with 2026-27

Where our own 2026-27 stories give the first day, the 2027-28 start is one calendar day earlier and falls on the same weekday, with one exception (Palm Beach County, last row). The dates come from our district stories and the documents above.

DistrictFirst day 2026-27First day 2027-28Change
HawaiiMon., Aug. 3, 2026Mon., Aug. 2, 2027One day earlier
Northside ISDMon., Aug. 10, 2026Mon., Aug. 9, 2027One day earlier
Clark CountyMon., Aug. 10, 2026Mon., Aug. 9, 2027One day earlier
Lee CountyTue., Aug. 11, 2026Tue., Aug. 10, 2027One day earlier
Orange CountyTue., Aug. 11, 2026Tue., Aug. 10, 2027One day earlier
Katy ISDWed., Aug. 12, 2026Wed., Aug. 11, 2027One day earlier
Columbus (Ohio)Thu., Aug. 20, 2026Thu., Aug. 19, 2027One day earlier
Fairfax CountyMon., Aug. 24, 2026Mon., Aug. 23, 2027One day earlier
ChicagoMon., Aug. 24, 2026Mon., Aug. 23, 2027One day earlier
Charlotte-MecklenburgTue., Aug. 25, 2026Tue., Aug. 24, 2027One day earlier
Palm Beach CountyMon., Aug. 10, 2026Tue., Aug. 10, 2027Same date, one weekday later

The weekday shift is a calendar fact: a date lands one weekday later each year. For registration dates and age cutoffs, see our kindergarten registration 2027-28 roundup.

Which districts have nothing posted for 2027-28?

On Nov. 4, 2026, the calendar pages of Houston Independent School District, Dallas Independent School District, the School District of Philadelphia, San Diego Unified, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Memphis-Shelby County Schools and the Wake County Public School System (WCPSS) showed nothing for 2027-28. We could not check NYC, Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD), Miami-Dade, Gwinnett, Montgomery County in Maryland, Prince George’s, Duval, Austin, Denver, Cobb, Baltimore County or Fort Worth, because their sites refused automated access or could not be read. They are listed as not confirmed.

The one-page table below lists the districts above with a first day we read, plus last days and breaks. Pair it with the printable school-year calendar and the August 2027 calendar to mark your district’s first day when it is approved.

Free printable downloads

Every template is free, needs no sign-up and prints on US Letter paper. Choose PDF for printing or PNG for screens and documents.

2027-28 School Calendars printables

  • Printable table of 2027-28 school calendars by district with first day, last day and breaks

    2027-28 School Calendars: Approval Tracker

    One-page tracker of 2027-28 school calendars from large districts: approval status, first day, last day and breaks, as of Nov. 4, 2026.

    PDF · 1 page · US Letter

Frequently asked questions

Which large districts have approved a 2027-28 school calendar?

As of Nov. 4, 2026, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, the Hawaii State Department of Education, Katy ISD, Northside ISD, Fairfax County Public Schools, Palm Beach County and Lee County have approved calendars with dates we read. Polk, Broward and Hillsborough counties say they approved theirs, but we did not read their dates.

When is the first day of school in 2027?

It depends on the district. Among the approved calendars we read, Hawaii starts Monday, Aug. 2, 2027, Northside ISD Monday, Aug. 9, Palm Beach County and Lee County Tuesday, Aug. 10, Katy ISD Wednesday, Aug. 11, Fairfax County Monday, Aug. 23 and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Tuesday, Aug. 24.

Are the posted but unapproved calendars final?

The Chicago, Orange County, Clark County and Columbus documents we read do not say a board approved them, and the Clark County calendar is marked "Subject to change". Treat their dates as posted, not confirmed.

Why are some districts not listed with dates?

Nothing was posted for 2027-28 on the calendar pages of Houston, Dallas, Philadelphia, San Diego, Cypress-Fairbanks, Memphis-Shelby County and Wake County on Nov. 4, 2026. Another 12 districts refused automated access, so we list them as not confirmed.

Sources

  1. 2027-2028 CMS Traditional Calendar (PDF), approved by the Board of Education on April 14, 2026 (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools)
  2. 2027-2028 Official School Calendar (PDF) (Hawaii State Department of Education)
  3. Katy ISD Board of Trustees approves fall breaks for 2026-2027, 2027-28 instructional calendars (Katy Independent School District, 2026-01-20)
  4. Board approves instructional calendars (Northside Independent School District, 2025-12-09)
  5. FCPS bulletin on the 2027-28 school calendar (Fairfax County Public Schools, 2026-07-13)
  6. FCPS adopts two new school year calendars, increasing number of five-day weeks (FFXnow, 2026-07-15)
  7. FY28 School Calendar (PDF), School Board Approved 8/12/2026 (The School District of Palm Beach County)
  8. Calendar, 2027-2028 (Approved 2/24/2026) (Polk County Public Schools)
  9. BCPS announces school calendars have been approved (Broward County Public Schools, 2025-12-18)
  10. School Board Approves 2027-2028 Student Academic Calendar (Hillsborough County Public Schools)
  11. SY27-28 family calendar (PDF, last update 3.5.26) (Chicago Public Schools)
  12. 2027-28 district calendar (PDF) (Orange County Public Schools)
  13. Student 2027-2028 Calendar (PDF) (Clark County School District)
  14. 27-28 CCS Traditional Calendar (PDF) (Columbus City Schools)
  15. 2027 - 2028 Instructional Calendar (PDF), board approved 11/04/2025 (The School District of Lee County, 2025-11-04)
  16. District Calendar (Houston Independent School District, 2026-11-04)
  17. District Calendar (Dallas Independent School District, 2026-11-04)
  18. Academic Calendar (School District of Philadelphia, 2026-11-04)
  19. Academic Calendars (San Diego Unified School District, 2026-11-04)
  20. Student calendars (Memphis-Shelby County Schools, 2026-11-04)
  21. Calendars (Wake County Public School System, 2026-11-04)

More in School Calendars

All School Calendars stories →
  1. Boston Public Schools Calendar 2026-27: February and April Recess, June 22 Last Day
  2. Spring Semester 2027 Start Dates: First Day of Classes at 24 Big Universities
  3. College Spring Break 2027: Dates for 37 Universities, From Feb. 27 to Apr. 4
  4. Snow Days 2026-27: How Seven Big School Districts Announce Closures and Make-Up Days
  5. Columbus City Schools Calendar 2026-27: Winter Break, Spring Break and Last Day